Gwen Stefani This Is What The Truth Feels Like

Posted by on Apr 5, 2016

Gwen. Gwen. Gwen. She had me (and let’s be honest here- my girls as well) at Holler back girl. I love her sassy style and her music has been on my list of favorites to listen to in the car, cleaning the house, and yes. Working out…which usually consists of trying to get an ice cube off the floor and subsequently letting it melt because I can’t do it. My kids love to hear her music on my faves list and Gwen is our go to girl when we need some pep in our step!

Gwen Stefani

A singer and songwriter since childhood, Gwen Stefani has sold close to 30 million records as the front woman for the band No Doubt and as a multi-platinum solo artist. Gwen took her time to carefully craft her new album This Is What The Truth Looks Like, her most personal work to date. With intimate songs such as Make Me Like You , Misery Truth and Used To Love You combined with the stellar productions from producers Mattman & Robin, Greg Kurstin, JR Rotem and Stargate, there is an emotional through line to the album that highlights Gwen s songwriting and impassioned themes of love and loss that are universally felt worldwide. Gwen is always looking for a new challenge which recently took the shape of TV judge on the NBC hit The Voice.

I really cannot say anything negative about this album. It is raw, you can tell she really DID take her time with this one and has put in her personal feelings about what she has been through and it is GOOD. It was fun to hear songs that were similar to her style- you get the beat you would expect from Gwen, but emotionally based- I would recommend listening to Make Me Like You, definitely one of my faves off this album. Gwen definitely has that distinct voice and sound that you would be doing yourself a favor to try her out- or if you’re a fan like me, continue to enjoy!

Anyone who can wear their heart on their sleeve and make the rest of us feel like they “GET” how it feels to go through trying times is a must on my playlist. My kids love the beat and are already trying to sing along with her. Who knows…maybe I have a future “Gwen” in the making!

Download the new Gwen Stefani album now from iTunes or pick it up from Target where you will get four extra tracks!

Track Listing
1. Misery
2. You’re My Favorite
3. Where Would I Be
4. Make Me Like You
5. Truth
6. Used To Love You
7. Send Me A
8. Red Flag
9. Asking For It
10. Naughty
11. Me Without You
12. Rare
NOTE: There are four bonus tracks on the album available at Target
13. Rocket Ship (Target Exclusive)
14. Getting Warmer (Target Exclusive)
15. Obsessed (Target Exclusive)
16. Splash (Target Exclusive

I participated in this sponsored album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided the album to review but all opinions are my own.